Meet the City of Sydney’s new councillors

Town crier celebrates our new council lineup at Sydney Town Hall

Photo: Abril Felman / City of Sydney

The inner city’s newly-elected local government representatives have been publicly announced at a ceremony at Sydney Town Hall.

After a smoking ceremony by Brendan Kerin from the Metropolitan Local Aboriginal Land Council, world champion town crier, Graham Keating, celebrated the new City of Sydney Council following the official announcement of the local government election results.

Clover Moore has returned as Lord Mayor with Jess Scully named Deputy Lord Mayor.

Jess Scully, Robert Kok and Linda Scott have returned as councillors. Emelda Davis, HY William Chan, Sylvie Ellsmore, Shauna Jarrett, Yvonne Weldon and Lyndon Gannon will represent the City of Sydney for the first time.

Brendan Kerin conducted a smoking ceremony. Photo: Abril Felman / City of Sydney

Councillors were sworn in at an extraordinary meeting to kick off the new term.

Due to Covid-19 related delays, the new council will serve for 2 years and 9 months.

World champion town crier, Graham Keating. Photo: Abril Felman / City of Sydney

Posted . Last updated .

Subscribe for updates

Choose the news that interests you

Sign up
Sign up