A guide to voting in the City of Sydney local elections

Get ready for election day on 4 December.

Voting will be different this year.

You can vote in person on election day or before at a pre-poll venue. But you can only vote in your local council area – there is no absentee voting.

To ensure a Covid-safe election, the NSW Electoral Commission will not use Sydney Town Hall as an early voting or election day voting venue.

All City of Sydney voters are entitled to a postal vote and all registered non-residents are entitled to iVote.

Remember, voting is compulsory. Here are details on how, when and where you can vote in the City of Sydney local elections.

Pre-poll voting

You can vote early by pre-poll from Monday 22 November to Friday 3 December. Pre-poll venues are open Monday to Saturday, 9am to 5pm.

Pre-polling will be available at:

  • Abraham Mott Hall, 17 Argyle Place, Millers Point
  • 144 Clarence Street, Sydney
  • The Rex Centre, 58A Macleay St, Potts Point
  • St Barnabas Church Broadway, 183 Broadway, Ultimo
  • Redfern Town Hall, Level 2, 73 Pitt St, Redfern
  • Mascot Wesley Uniting Church, 118 Coward Street, Mascot

Voting on the day

To vote on election day, visit a polling place in the local area from 8am to 6pm. You can vote in person at one of 41 polling places in the City of Sydney.

Postal votes

If you're enrolled in the City of Sydney local area, you can apply for a postal vote. To vote by post and have your ballot papers sent to you, apply online or download a form.

Applications will be open until 29 November.

Postal ballot papers will be sent out from Monday 8 November.


Some members of the community will be able to vote online or over the phone.

If you're eligible to use iVote, you can apply online or over the phone on 1300 248 683.

Applications and voting will be open from Monday 22 November.

On election day, iVote applications close at 1pm and iVoting closes at 6pm.

View a step-by-step video guide on how to use iVote, including eligibility criteria.

Non-residential voters

The City of Sydney is required to maintain a register with details of people who may be entitled to vote as non-residents. This includes owners, occupiers and rate-paying lessees of rateable property in the City of Sydney local area who don’t live in the city.

At election time, the NSW Electoral Commission includes these on the authorised roll of residents and non-residents to be used for the election.

Non-resident voters are required to vote and must request a postal vote for the City of Sydney even if ballot papers are automatically sent to them for their local area, this includes silent or general postal voters.

Voting safely

The NSW Electoral Commission has developed a Covid-19 safety plan for the 2021 election. When voting at a polling place you will be required to check in, wear a mask, physically distance, use a single use pen and sanitise your hands.

Stay up to date

The 2021 City of Sydney local government election is run independently by the NSW Electoral Commission. For up-to-date information visit the NSW Electoral Commission website or call 1300 135 736.

Posted .

Subscribe for updates

Choose the news that interests you

Sign up
Sign up